The Daily Weigh In… I don’t do them

06Jan09

Scale I don’t like daily weigh ins. Mostly because I don’t think to hop on the scale every day, but also because I am motivated by progress, and I tend to get de-motivated when there is little to no change. I’m the kind of person that would rather say, “3 days ago I weighed in and I had lost 4 more pounds, who know what that’s up to today!” Rather than, “I weighed in this morning and it’s pretty much the same as yesterday.” See the difference?

I tend to weigh myself on Mondays and Fridays. Sometimes more… especially if I feel significantly different. I’ve learned, however, that the most important thing about a weigh in is not how often you do it, but that you are

consistent about when you do it each time. You can gain/lose a lot of water/sweat weight through out the day. So what I do is, on days that I am going to weigh myself: I weigh in first thing in the morning, right after I use the little programmer room. 🙂 I make sure to hop on the scale before I eat breakfast, before my morning energy drink, pretty much before anything else, and that consistency seems to work well for me, at least it gives me a little more level of confidence that what I am measuring is at least the closest thing to an accurate comparison that I can make.

Caleb Jenkins | less of me

↑ Grab this Headline Animator

If you’re still here, then subscribe to my RSS feed or subscribe to email updates and enjoy the journey! Got a question? Post it to the comments, or drop me an email.

4 Responses to “The Daily Weigh In… I don’t do them”

  1. I weigh myself in the morning, usually after my workout, but before I eat. And I do a weigh in every day, and keep track in Excel.

    I don’t have the expectation that every day will be a downward tick, much like I don’t expect the price of a stock or mutual fund I own to go up all the time. What’s important is the trend. If the trend is in the right direction, I’m happy.

    I’m down 17 lbs since early January, and pushing for 45 more by the end of the summer.

  2. 2 Stephen

    I wouldn’t weigh-in *after* the workout. What you lose in sweat can be a significant amount. For example, when I have my long runs (10+ miles) I usually weigh myself before the run and after the run (so I can make sure I take in enough water–I drink enough to get my weight back to where it was pre-run). It’s not unusual to be a couple pounds lighter after the run.


  1. 1 Staying Motivated : 0 Dark 30
  2. 2 Setback? Actually, not so much : 0 Dark 30

Leave a Reply

